Fellows runs win streak to 11, Ovitt unofficial winner of 50-lapper

CLAREMONT, N.H. – The Superman is still undefeated through 11 completed races this summer at Claremont Motorsports Park. Yes, Aaron Fellows was narrowly beaten Friday, Aug. 2, at the Thrasher Road Speedplant but no it wasn’t in Late Model Sportsman competition.

On the same night Fellows moved one step closer to an undefeated season, Dana Smith stormed to victory in the Sportsman Modified main, travelin’ man Alby Ovitt was the unofficial winner of the Battle For The Belt 50-lapper, and both Kyle Templeton and Jeremy Blood added to their divisional points leads by topping their feature races.

In the Street Stock 50-lap biggie, Aaron Fellows, guest piloting a Bay State sizzler, quickly took charge, with Alby Ovitt soon glued to his bumper. Fellows, bidding for his second feature win of the night, was fast, but Ovitt was on a rail.

Ovitt, a feature winner here in Casella Street Stock action back in May, dropped Fellows to second on lap eight and never looked back as he soared away in pursuit of the $1,000 winner’s purse. With the event’s finish still unofficial at press time, pending conclusion of technical inspections of the top five, it was Ovitt, Fellows, and Chase Curtis hoisting the trophies in victory lane Friday.

Dave Greenslit, who entered the event solidly in second place in Belt point standings, took a big in his pursuit of the title, exiting early to finish deep in the 23-car field.

Dana Smith took command of the Pepsi Sportman Modified feature on lap four and never looked back, easily topping his second main event of the summer. Mod points leader Brian Robie was second, and Mike Smith trophied for the third week in a row, as the Sunapee trio again claimed all the goodies in victory lane.

Ryan Bell led early in the R.E. Hinkley Late Model Sportsman feature, then giving way to potent Ben Poland on lap seven. Two laps later, Fellows was knocking.

Fellows took the lead on lap 16 and never looked back, running his phenomenal undefeated streak to 11. Poland sailed under the checkers in second, and Bell came home third, just ahead of Guy Caron, who was making his first run of the summer at the fast third-mile.

Kyle Templeton moved to the point on the first lap of the Pure Stock feature, then keeping his foot to the floor to score the win ahead of rookie phenom Dylan Adams, who posted another runner-up finish, his second in as many races. Jim Carley, strong all night, came home third.

Six-Shooter kingpin Jeremy Blood led early and often en route to his ninth victory of the summer. Paul Colburn, victorious a week earlier, was second on the night, and Earl Moul came home third.

Next Friday, Aug. 9, the vintage classics of the STAR, Senior Tour Auto Racers, will make their lone visit of the summer at Claremont Motorsports Park. The speedway’s five NASCAR weekly racing divisions will all be in action too, with racing underway at 7 p.m.

Aug. 2 feature finishes:

  • Battle For The Belt 50-Lap Street Stock (Unofficial at press time): Alby Ovitt, Aaron Fellows, Chase Curtis, Jimmy Renfrew, Jarrett Curtis, Chris Riendeau, Kenny Thompson, Chris Buffone, Joe Tetreault, Hillary Renaud, Cody Schoolcraft, Travis Hollins, Larry Riendeau, Kenny Scott Jr., Nick Little, Raven Streeter, Robbie Streeter, Dave Greenslit, Nate Nunez, Kenny Dureault, Stephen Dubois, Chris Emerson. DQ – Charles Dubury.
  • Late Model Sportsmen: Aaron Fellows, Ben Poland, Ryan Bell, Guy Caron, Kenny Fowler, Tyler Lescord, Briana Akusis, Mark Blair, Dennis Bell, Mark McClay, Victor Branch.
  • Sportsman Modified: Dana Smith, Brian Robie, Mike Smith, Kyle Welch, Alyssa Rivera, Eric LeClair.
  • Pure Stock: Kyle Templeton, Dylan Adams, Jim Carley, Bruce Adams, Rich Streeter, Chris Carver, Bruce Cantara Jr, Clark Brooks, Sammy Silva, Camdyn Curtis.
  • Six-Shooter: Jeremy Blood, Paul Colburn, Eric Lanou, Earl Moul.

Written by Gary Dutton

Back To Top