Fellows makes a dozen, rookie star Welch wins second

CLAREMONT, N.H. – Rookie open-wheel blaster Kyle Welch won his second Sportsman Modified feature Friday, Aug. 9, at Claremont Motorsports Park, while the man they call The Superman, Croydon’s Aaron Fellows, ran his 2019 unbeaten streak to 12 at the Thrasher Road speedplant.

Street Stock kingpin Chris Riendeau scored his third victory of the summer, keeping atop the championship points parade, while Seth Melcher earned his third Pure Stock victory lap, and Paul Colburn made it two-on-the-season in the Six-Shooters.

Alyssa Rivera and Welch sat on the front row of the Pepsi Sportsman Modified feature, with Lempster’s Welch jumping all over the opening lead. Kenny Thompson led the early-race pursuit pack, with Dana Smith grabbing the deuce on lap four.

With Smith finding the outside groove unfriendly on lap 23, division ace Brian Robie bolted to second but on this night, nobody would catch the sizzling Welch, as he rocketed to his second feature win of the summer. Robie was the runner-up, Smith came home third, with Kenny Thompson and Alyssa Rivera rounding out the top five.

Tyler Lescord led lap one of the R.E. Hinkley Late Model Sportsman main event, then giving way to Charlestown strongman Ben Poland, who’s spent his summer putting together strong second-place runs.

This one would end no different. Fellows, firing from row four, led by a wheel as lap 14 went in the books and then put it in cruise control as he ran his unblemished winning streak to a dozen. Poland, strong all night, settled for another second, with former track champ Jack McClay earning his first trophy of the summer in third.

Chris Riendeau started up front in the Casella Street Stock feature, never looking back as he sped off to his third feature win this summer. The win, though, didn’t come easily.

Riendeau led most of the race with Dave Greenslit in his back pocket. Greenslit never found the moment’s fortune he needed, though, taking the checkers glued to Riendeau’s bumper. Briana Akusis recovered from an early-race jingle to score her first podium finish of the summer.

Sunshine Towner Jim Carley led the first 12 laps of the Pure Stock 25-lapper, with Seth Melcher then taking command and, after surviving a late-race restart, darting off to his third win of the year. Carley, solid all night, was the runner-up, with rookie whiz Bruce Adams earning the three-spot.

Paul Colburn took the lead from Eric Prescott on lap four of the caution-free Six-Shooter feature then drove away to score his second career win. Points leader Jeremy Blood was second, and Eric Lanou came home third.

With the Senior Tour Auto Racers making their annual CMP visit, and speedway announcer George Powers handling their chief starter duties from mid-track, Bob Seward topped the STAR Sportsmen and Art Hannaford won the STAR Modified feature.

Hannaford, aboard his immaculate 1973 Pinto machine, from Winthrop, Maine, led Jim Allen, in a 1967 Mustang, and Jaffrey’s Tom Trempke, piloting a 1965 Mustang open-wheeler, under Powers’ checkers.

Seward’s Lee, Mass.-based1938 Plymouth Coupe, took the checkers ahead of Jim Torok’s 1978 Pinto Sportsman and Skip Stearn’s 1937 Chevy Coupe.

Claremont Motorsports Park will be idle this Friday, Aug. 16, as the popular third-mile oval takes its annual Cornish Fair weekend break to allow its fans and racing competitors the opportunity to attend the nearby fair. It will return to action Aug. 23.

Aug. 9 feature finishes:

  • Sportsman Modified: Kyle Welch, Brian Robie, Dana Smith, Kenny Thompson, Alyssa Rivera, Mike Smith, Eric LeClair.
  • Late Model Sportsman: Aaron Fellows, Ben Poland, Jack McClay, Ryan Bell, Tyler Lescord, Eric Martell, Dennis Bell, Mark Blair.
  • Street Stock: Chris Riendeau, Dave Greenslit, Briana Akusis, Robbie Streeter, Raven Streeter, Cody Schoolcraft, Nick Little, Mike Salois.
  • Pure Stock: Seth Melcher, Jim Carley, Bruce Adams, Kyle Templeton, Dylan Adams, Rich Streeter, Chris Carver, Camdyn Curtis, Sammy Silva, Bruce Cantara Jr., Sam Giveen, Tom Engelhart.
  • Six-Shooters: Paul Colburn, Jeremy Blood, Eric Lanou, Eric Prescott, Amy Jaycox, Earl Moul.

Written by Gary Dutton

Back To Top