Fellows completes perfect season, Greenslit and Templeton clinch titles

CLAREMONT, N.H. – Aaron Fellows completed an historic championship season Friday, Sept. 13, winning his 16th consecutive Late Model Sportsman feature race at Claremont Motorsports Park to finish undefeated in main event competition during the 2019 racing season at the storied third-mile speedplant.

And while the 40-year-old star was busy punctuating his 12th championship season with Friday’s win, both Dave Greenslit and Kyle Templeton had plenty to celebrate too. Greenslit topped the season-finale Street Stock feature to win his own track crown, while Templeton also earned a victory lap en route to his first Pure Stock title.

Seabrook’s Adam Knowles topped the Six-Shooters, winning his second event in as many tries at the Thrasher Road oval. Bay Stater D.J. Flanagan was the night’s Red Neck Enduro winner, and Seabrook’s Ed Flanagan – piloting the same Monte Carlo he’s campaigned since 2001 – was victorious in the eight-cylinder Enduro.

Ryan Bell led the first 17 laps of the R.E. Hinkley Late Model Sportsman main event, with Fellows, who’d dropped Robert Hagar to third two circuits earlier, then using his trademark low dive into turn one to take command and then dart off to history, completing his remarkable season a full third-lap ahead of Hagar.

With Hagar impressive in second, Ben Poland charged back from a lap-11 looper to finish third on the night and second on the summer.

Poland’s own 2019 successes included 14 podium finishes in 16 events, including nine runner-up outings, one an early-season near miss in which Fellows’ motor grenaded on the last lap, holding on just long enough to allow him to coast to the awaiting checkers. Hagar had four second-place finishes, including runner-up showings in each of season’s final three events.

Greenslit entered Friday’s season finale only two points ahead of Chris Riendeau in the battle of two four-time feature winners for the 2019 Casella Street Stock crown. On this night, Greenslit came well prepared.

Blasting off from row two, the hometown hot shoe never looked back en route to his fifth win of the summer and the championship champagne that awaited him in victory lane. Riendeau, firing from deep in the field, got up for second by lap four but could never find his way past Greenslit before heading pitside late in the event to settle for second on the summer, as he did behind Bryan Town a season ago.

Larry Riendeau took over second when his son dropped from the race, earning the night’s runner-up hardware just ahead of high school junior Briana Akusis, who came back from an early-race jingle to finish third, her fourth podium finish in a row.

Like Greenslit, Templeton made easy work of topping his feature race Friday to lock up the 2019 Pure Stock championship. Last season’s Rookie of The Year, Templeton’s sophomore championship was earned ahead of this summer’s top rookie, Bruce Adams.

Templeton hit the stripe even with Chris Carver as lap one went into the books and then turned on the afterburners and drove away. Erin Aiken, this season’s winner of the Cody LaFont Memorial twinbill, was strong in second, with Newport’s Jim Carley, strong again, finishing both third on the night and third on the year.

Sea-coaster Adam Knowles took over when Six-Shooter regular Paul Colburn’s race-leading ride faltered half way through the night’s 30-lapper. With Knowles scoring his second win of the season, Six-Shooter champ Jeremy Blood – who entered Friday’s race with the 2019 title already in hand – came home third on the night to conclude his 11-win championship season.

The CMP Pepsi Sportsman Modifieds did not compete in the track’s final 2019 event, having completed their schedule two weeks earlier. Sunapee pilot Brian Robie is the track champion in that division, joining Fellows, Greenslit, Templeton, and Blood as the 2019 champions of their division. Like both Templeton and Blood, Robie’s track title is his first.

Feature finishes:

  • Street Stock: Dave Greenslit, Larry Riendeau, Briana Akusis, Robbie Streeter, Cody Schoolcraft, Tim Akusis, Nick Little, Mike Salois, Kenny Thompson, Tyson Hayes, Chris Riendeau, Kyle Buck, Chris Emerson, Raven Streeter, Jeremy Whitcomb.
  • Late Model Sportsman: Aaron Fellows, Ben Poland, Robert Hagar, Ryan Bell, Kenny Fowler, Tyler Lescord, Jack McClay, Mark Blair, Dennis Bell, Eric Martell.
  • Pure Stock: Kyle Templeton, Erin Aiken, Jim Carley, Bruce Adams, Clark Brooks, Dylan Adams, Camdyn Curtis, Seth Melcher, Sammy Silva, Chris Carver, Richard Stockwell, Amber Brehio, Rich Streeter.
  • Six-Shooter: Adam Knowles, Brandon Mailhot, Jeremy Blood, Earl Moul Amy Jaycox, Eric Prescott, Paul Colburn, Eric Lanou.

Written by Gary Dutton

Back To Top