Erin Aiken tops LaFont Memorial, 10 straight for Fellows at Claremont

CLAREMONT, N.H. – Erin Aiken won the third annual two-segment Cody LaFont Memorial Race Friday, July 26, at Claremont Motorsports Park, putting together a pair of deuces to edge rookie upstart Dylan Adams and earn the $500 Pure Stock payday and her first victory of the summer at the Thrasher Road speedplant.

In the Late Model Sportsmen, Croydon Comet Aaron Fellows again rocketed to victory, staying a perfect ten-for-ten on the season. Sunapee speedster Brian Robie earned his sixth victory lap of the summer in the Sportsman Modifieds, division points leader Dave Greenslit topped the Street Stocks, and Six-Shooter Paul Colburn scored his first career win.

Jim Carley and Dylan Adams led the Pure Stocks to the green in their first 25-lap go-round, with Adams, in his first NASCAR-sanctioned outing ever, jumping all over the lead and then never looking back. Aiken got up to second on lap 22, but it was Adams picking up the $100 segment-winner bonus. Newport’s Chris Conroy was third.

In the nightcap, Chris Carver was the early leader but Kodi Sabins, the winner of the first two LaFont Memorial events, took charge on lap 19 and sped off to victory. Aiken stormed into second with two laps to go to clinch the overall victory. Adams, fourth in round two, was second, and Sabins third.

Mark Blair led the first two go-rounds in the R.E. Hinkley Late Model Sportsman main, then giving way to hard-charging Ben Poland. By lap 13, Aaron Fellows was knocking and, two laps later, the 11-time track champ was in charge and on his way to victory ten of the 2019 season. Poland was strong in second, and Ryan Bell posted a season-best third.

Mike Smith set a fast pace in the Pepsi Sportsman Modified 40 lappers, leading the first three laps before giving way to fellow Sunapee star Brian Robie. Once in front, Robie withstood the all-out charge of rookie Kyle Welch to win for the sixth time and, in so doing, increase his divisional points lead.

Welch, on a rail all night, was the runner-up, with Mike Smith impressive in third. Dana Smith and Alyssa Rivera rounded out the top five.

Dave Greenslit battled Briana Akusis for two laps in the Casella Street Stock feature, then taking command and never looking back. Chris Riendeau got up to second on lap ten but Joe Tetreault, who had won the Streeter’s previous feature, had his own eyes on the prize, dropping Riendeau to third but then running out of laps in his pursuit of Greenslit, whose second win of the summer helped him pad his championship points lead.

Paul Colburn led all the way to score his career-first Six-Shooter feature win. Points leader Jeremy Blood was second, and Green Mountain Boy Earl Moul came home third. Colburn also won his heat race.

Northeast Classic Lites kingpin Stew McCormack of Plaistow, N.H. did what he’d done a month earlier at the Thrasher Road oval, gobbling up the field for an easy feature win. Duane Skofield was second, and Derrick Marsan third.

Next Friday, Aug. 2, the Street Stock Battle of the Belt comes to Claremont Motorsports Park, with more than 30 of the top Street Stocks in northern New England expected in to participate in the multi-track series event. The Sportsman Modifieds, Late Model Sportsmen, Pure Stocks, and Six-Shooters will all be in action too.

For more information, please visit

July 26 feature finishes:

  • Pure Stock (Cody LaFont Memorial Twin 25s): Erin Aiken, Dylan Adams, Kodi Sabins, Kyle Templeton, Chris Conroy, Chris Carver, Jim Carley, Seth Melcher, Rich Streeter, Bruce Adams, Sammy Silva, Jon Alden, Aaron Thompson, Carter Chamberlain, Dylan Bodreau, Bruce Cantara Jr., Clark Brooks, Cooper Roberge.
  • Late Model Sportsman: Aaron Fellows, Ben Poland, Ryan Bell, Kenny Fowler, Mark Blair, Eric Martell, Victor Branch, Scott Boisvert, Tyler Lescord.
  • Sportsman Modified: Brian Robie, Kyle Welch, Mike Smith, Dana Smith, Alyssa Rivera, Kenny Thompson, Eric Leclair.
  • Street Stock: Dave Greenslit, Joe Tetreault, Chris Riendeau, Larry Riendeau, Briana Akusis, Robbie Streeter, Cody Schoolcraft, Raven Streeter, Mike Salois, Mike Parks, Nick Little.
  • Six-Shooters: Paul Colburn, Jeremy Blood, Earl Moul, Katie Buxton, Eric Lanou, Eric Prescott, Stephanie Zara.
  • N.E. Classic Lites: Stew McCormack, Duane Skofield, Derrick Marsan.

Written by Gary Dutton

Back To Top