Kurn Hattin graduation, celebration of hope and perseverance

The 2018 graduates of Kurn Hattin Homes from back left: Jeremiah Bussiere, Kevin Patterson, Christiana Mylott, Noelani (Love) Lowe, Antoinette Reyes, Hannah Lockwood. From front left: Zachary Corban, Thomas Daniels Jr., Vincenzo Ruggiero, Korbin Jones-McDougal, Sylus LaBarre, and Jacob Edwards. Photo provided.

WESTMINSTER, Vt. – On Saturday, June 9, 2018, 12 eighth graders graduated from Kurn Hattin Homes for Children in a joyous and emotional ceremony. Graduation proceedings began with an opening welcome from Executive Director Stephen Harrison, an invocation from houseparent Clint Plant, and greetings from Janet Wilson, president of the Board. Salutatorian Sylus LaBarre then spoke to the audience and his fellow graduating classmates.

Several students received one or more prizes from the categories of awards which included: The Good Citizenship award, Zachary Corban; The Vosburg award, Sylus LaBarre; The W.I. Mayo awards, Korbin Jones-McDougal and Noelani (Love) Lowe; The Suitcase award, Zachary Corban and Noelani Love; The Woodhull Music awards, Noelani (Love) Lowe, Zachary Corban, Jacob Edwards, and Antoinette Reyes; The Massachusetts Board of Directors’ Excellence in Writing awards, Korbin Jones-McDougal and Noelani (Love) Lowe; The Alumni Association awards, Zachary Corban and Noelani (Love) Lowe; The Eleanor Ward Achievement award, Korban Jones-McDougal; The John P. Barry & Christopher W. Barry award, Zachary Corban; The W.I. Mayo Memorial award, Jacob Edwards; The Robert P. Hubbard Memorial Scholarship award, Noelani (Love) Lowe.

Additionally, The Peter Harrison Grohs Memorial award was given to seventh grader Cameron Childress, and the Vivian Prindl award was given to seventh grader Izabella Murphy. Three Kurn Hattin alumni were awarded the Thomas G. Fahner Scholarship: Jahyde R. Bullard, Chrystal Longe, and Gizenia Boyd.

Valedictorian Jacob Edwards gave the farewell speech, mentioning his first memories of coming to the Homes at age 9, his experiences over the years leading up to graduation, and his plans for the future. He said he would always hold dear what he learned from Kurn Hattin. Diplomas were then presented by Janet Wilson and Principal Sergio Simunovic. After graduating, many of the students stay on campus for the summer program, and then will rejoin their families and attend their local high schools in the fall. Others will move on to attend other private residential schools with a similar mission.

Congratulations to the Kurn Hattin Class of 2018: Jeremiah Izick Bussiere of Winchester, N.H.; Zachary Seth Corban of Swanzey, N.H.; Thomas Edgar Daniels Jr. of Ludlow, Vt.; Jacob Ralph Edwards of New York City, N.Y.; Korbin Liam Jones-McDougal of Keene, N.H.; Sylus Joseph LaBarre of Allenwood, Pa.; Hannah Rose Lockwood of Bellows Falls, Vt.; Noelani Sandra-Ann (Love) Lowe of Pawtucket, R.I.; Christiana Holly Mylott of Manchester Center, Vt.; Kevin James Patterson of Putney, Vt.; Antoinette Janet Reyes of Cambria Heights, N.Y.; and Vincenzo James Ruggiero of Saxtons River, Vt.

Related Post

Back To Top