Ben Stockman as the recipient of the May Award

BRATTLEBORO, Vt. – The New England Youth Theatre May Awards Committee is pleased to announce NEYT alumnus Ben Stockman as the recipient of the May Award for 2017.  Ben is currently studying for his MFA in Directing at Ohio University, and this is the second time has been awarded. Ben is also the first May Award applicant to be specializing in Directing.

Ben Stockman. Photo provided

Ben is a member of the founding class of NEYT in 2001, and he quickly established himself as an actor, director, and a keen and savvy reader of scripts. Ben was involved in numerous productions as an actor at NEYT, and he directed his first show in 1999. He then went on to direct six more for the organization, including a terrific production of “Harvey” as a Junior in High School. He has also been both an Assistant Director and a Director for the Apron Theatre Company in Putney, Vermont, and returns to Brattleboro frequently to direct both NEYT’s Alumni shows and their Summer Programs for youths in the area.

Ben’s primary long-term goal is to found an ensemble-based professional theatre company. This company would “provide reliable opportunities for future NEYT alumni seeking to work in the industry, in a working environment that consistently fosters the kind, encouraging, and supportive collaborative relationships that NEYT was founded on,” says Stockman.

The May Award is funded by a very generous grant from an anonymous donor, and is awarded to NEYT graduates over the age of 21 who are currently in a program or have been accepted into a recognized program of professional training, conservatory, or theater major, and who intend to continue on a path of professional training in the performing arts in either performance and technical work in theater, film, or television.

The intention behind the award is to spur the growth of committed actors and technicians in the theatrical world, help their careers, and thereby eventually help to build the financial strength of NEYT.

The May Award Committee consists of a balanced roster of NEYT faculty and staff, and community members outside of NEYT. They consider the NEYT career of all applicants, the level of commitment, energy, and determination shown by applicants during their years at NEYT, and of course the quality of their work. For more information about NEYT and the May Award, please visit their website at

Back To Top